Football governing body hails Andiamo

Super Rangers - 2012 Champions of Andiamo Trophy

Super Rangers – 2012 Champions of Andiamo Trophy

The Football Association of Malawi (FAM) executive member Gowa Banda has applauded Andiamo Youth Cooperative Trust (AYCT) for its unending effort to promote football at the grassroots level.

Banda said this on Sunday at Balaka stadium during finals of K1.5 million Andiamo League sponsored by AYCT in conjunction with the Association of Lawyers from Bergamo in Italy.

Part of the action

Part of the action

During the finals Super Rangers lifted the championship after beating former Division One side Andiamo Bullets 5-4 through post match penalties and received K200 000 for being champions.

Ladies parading the trophy

Ladies parading the trophy

“FAM appreciates the role Andiamo is playing in promoting football in the country. Many companies cannot do what you are doing,” said Banda.

Banda, who is also General Secretary for Southern Region Football Committee (SRFC), further said: “Balaka is the only district in the Southern region with the highest sponsorship at district level.”

He also asked AYCT to increase sponsorship so that the league should continue to be exciting.

Rangers FC

Rangers FC

AYCT Executive Director Andrew Galeta said the organisation is committed to assist government in promoting sports in the country.

“We’ll consider raising the sponsorship as you have requested. We also plan to extend our sponsorship to women football as well as netball,” he said.

Bullets coach Yohane Konde conceded defeat but said his charges played according to plan.

“We were just very unfortunate to lose the match through penalties but we created a number of chances in the second half,” said Konde.

His counterpart Davie Mtambo was over the moon and just said: “I am very excited to win the trophy.”

Andiamo Bullets FC

Andiamo Bullets FC

Bullets received K150 000 and a miniature. Liwonde Roadblock got K70 000 for being on third place. Balaka Socials who came fourth after losing 1-0 to Roadblock went away with K50 000.

There were other prizes splashed to different winners. Sawali emerged a Fairplay team and got K20 000. Abdul Mpanga (Rangers) and Chifundo James (Bullets) each received K10 000 for being top goal scorer and best player of the tournament respectively.

AYCT has been sponsoring the league for three years running. This year the league attracted 74 teams from across the district.

By Our Reporter

Share to Facebook
This entry was posted in Culture and Sport, News from Malawi and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *